Aaaahhh…I love this song!

just take it...

Excerpt from India.Arie  ‘Heart of the Matter’

This song is a cover.  The original is by Don Henley (I love the Eagles…didn’t know that huh?…). India.Arie’s version makes me feel.  I sound like a loser but it just makes me FEEL…  I just feel the power of the words… I know it sounds so lame but forgiveness is probably the most difficult emotion/character  to actually possess.

What is forgiveness?  Is it an emotion? A characteristic?  I looked it up and it seemed like it was just an action.  Something that can just be ‘done’ by anyone actually.

Just do it.  If you can actually forgive you are my super hero, I feel it is a power that so few possess…kinda like being invisible or immortal…

These times are so uncertain
There’s a yearning undefined
And people filled with rage
We all need a little tenderness
How can love survive in such a graceless age
And the trust and self-assurance that lead to happiness
They’re the very things we kill, I guess
Pride and competition cannot fill these empty arms
And the work they put between us,
You know it doesn’t keep us warm

I’ve been trying to live without you now
But I miss you, baby
The more I know, the less I understand
And all the things I thought I figured out, I have to learn again
I’ve been tryin’ to get down to the Heart of the Matter
But my will gets weak
And my heart is so shattered
But I think it’s about forgiveness
Forgiveness
Even if, even if you don’t love me anymore

If you want to hear the version that changed my life just listen here.   Yikes, that sounded tre cheesy but it is the truth…

Peace

Leave a Reply

